Sporting Events
World Series

As the nights draw in and the NFL and college football seasons start ramping into gear, Major League Baseball is getting ready to host the World Series. It pits the winner of the American League and National League in a best-of-7 series to be crowned the champions. The event was first staged in 1903 when the Boston Pilgrims won it all.

The New York Yankees have been the most common participant in the event with 40 trips and coming away victorious on 27 occasions. The only other franchise to have been crowned winners on double-digit occasions is the St. Louis Cardinals with 11 victories. Only two active franchises have failed to compete in the World Series: the Seattle Mariners and the Washington Nationals (formally Montreal Expos).

FOX has held the domestic broadcast rights for the entire 21st Century, and as time has gone on the dates for the World Series have drifted later and later and now it commonly runs into November.

The World Series has fallen foul of two supposed curses that kept the Boston Red Sox and the Chicago Cubs from being crowned winners: The Curse of the Bambino and the Curse of the Billy Goat. The Red Sox finally won in 2004 and then the Cubs did in 2016.

Gaming USA Headline Offers:

All offers subject to T&Cs and any state restrictions

Up to $100 in losses returned with Virgin Casino

A $5 bonus on your first deposit with FanDuel

Get a 100% matched deposit bonus with TwinSpires